THE CHINA HISTORY PODCAST

The History of Taiwan (Part 15) Ep. 324

| PINYIN / TERM | CHINESE | ENGLISH / MEANING |
|----------------------|-----------|--|
| Mă Yīngjiŭ | 马英九 | b. 1950, known as Ma Ying-jeou, President of the ROC 2008-2016, KMT Chairman 2009-2014 |
| Fàn Lán Liánméng | 泛滥联盟 | The Pan-Blue Coalition led by the KMT |
| Fàn Lǜ Liánméng | 泛绿联盟 | The Pan Green Coalition led byy the DPP |
| Xí Jìnpíng | 习近平 | b. June 15, 1953, current president of the PRC as well as General Secretary of the CCP $% \left({{\rm{CCP}}} \right)$ |
| Ögedei Khan | 太宗 / 英文皇帝 | 1186-1241, second khagan-emperor of the Mongol Empire. Third son of Genghis Khan, he continued the expansion of the empire that his father had begun. |
| Chóngqìng | 重庆 | Once part of Sichuan province, Chongqing is now a municipality like Beijing, Tianjin, and Shanghai |
| Sõngshān Airport | 松山机场 | A regional airport located in Taipei that doubles as a military base |
| Mă Xiānshēng | 马先生 | Mr. Ma (Mr. Ma Ying-jeou) |
| Legislative Yuan | 立法院 | The unicameral legislature of the ROC (Taiwan) located in Taipei. The Legislative Yuan is composed of 113 members, who are directly elected for four-year terms by voters of the Taiwan Area through a parallel voting system. |
| Cài Yĩngwén | 蔡英文 | b. 1956, known as Tsai Ing-wen, President of the ROC 2016-2024, DPP Chair from 2020-2022, also served in other positions in the Legislative Yuan and Mainland Affairs Council |
| Eric Chu (Zhū Lìlún) | 朱立伦 | b. June 7, 1961, current KMT chairman since October 2021. |
| James Soong | 宋楚瑜 | b. 1942, Taiwanese politician, founder of the People's First Party, Governor of Taiwan Province 1993-1998 |
| Táiwān Gòngshí | 台湾共识 | The "Taiwan Consensus", Tsai Ing-wen's answer to the "1992 Consensus" |
| Páiwān | 排湾 | An indigenous people of Taiwan. In 2014, the Paiwan numbered 96,334. This was approximately 17.8% of Taiwan's total indigenous population, making them the second-largest indigenous group. |
| Executive Yuan | 行政院 | the executive branch of the government of the Republic of China (Taiwan). Its leader is premier, who is appointed by president of the Republic of China |
| Xīn Nánxiàng Zhèngcè | 新南向政策 | Tsai Ing-wen's New Southbound Policy involving relations with eighteen nations in Southeast Asia, South Asia and Australia/New Zealand |

| Táiwān Tóngzhì Yóuxíng | 同志游行 | The Taiwan Pride Parade, first held in 2003. Although joined by groups from all over the country, the primary location has always been the capital city of Taipei. The parade held in October 2019 attracted more than 200,000 |
|------------------------|------|--|
| Dèng Xi ǎ opíng | 邓小平 | 1904-1997, revolutionary leader, military commander, statesman, reformer who served as parampount leader in China from December 1978-November 1989. He is revered by many as "The Architect of Modern China" |
| Zhèng Chénggóng | 郑成功 | Born Tagawa Fukumatsu and Zhang Sen, Also known as Koxinga 国姓爷 Lord of the Royal Surname. He known in popular Chinese history as Zheng Chenggong (actual name was Zhu Chenggong (the royal Ming Zhu 朱. He lived |
| Dōngníng Kingdom | 东宁王国 | The Dongning Kingdom 1661-1683, led by the Zheng Family (first Zheng Chenggong, then Zheng Jing) |
| Kāngxī | 康熙帝 | Qing Emperor who ruled during the dynasty's early decades, from 1661-1722 |
| Shī Láng | 施琅 | 1621-1696, Chinese admiral who served under the Ming and Qing dynasties. He was the commander-in-chief of the Qing fleets which destroyed the power of Zheng's in southern Fujian and led the conquest of the Zheng family's |
| Fújiàn | 福建 | Coastal province in southern China. Most Taiwanese can trace their ancestry to the southern Fujian coastal region |
| First Qin Emperor | 秦始皇 | 259-210 BC, King of Qin State 247-221 BC. Founded the Qin Dyansty in 221 BC, ruling until his death eleven years later |
| Chén Shǔibiǎn | 陈水扁 | Born in 1950, Chen is a retired Taiwanese politician and lawyer who served as the president of the Republic of China from 2000 to 2008. He was the first president from the Democratic Progressive Party followinf 55 years of |
| Yī Guó Liǎng Zhì | 一国两制 | One Country Two Systems |
| Lǐ Dēnghuī | 李登辉 | 1923-2020, was a Taiwanese statesman and agriculturist who served as President of the ROC and chairman of the KMT from 1988 to 2000. He was the first president to be born in Taiwan, the last to be indirectly elected and |
| | | |