

## TERMS REFERENCED IN EPISODE

## The History of Taiwan (Part 14)

PINYIN / TERM	CHINESE	ENGLISH / MEANING
Chiang Ching-Kuo	蒋经国	1910-1988, Mostly written as Chiang Ching-kuo, he was the son of Chiang Kaishek and served as president of the ROC from 1978-1988 and premier from 1972-1978
běnshěngrén	本省人	In Taiwan these are the people born and raised in Taiwan and who lived there prior to the Chinese Civil War
D <b>ă</b> ngwài Movement	党外	a loosely knit political opposition movement in Taiwan in the mid-1970s and early 1980s.
Lǐ Dēnghuī	李登辉	1923-2020, Taiwanese statesman and economist who served as President of the ROC under the 1947 Constitution and chairman of the KMT from 1988 to 2000. He was the first president to be born in Taiwan, the last to be indirectly
Tànqīn	探亲	To return to your homeland and visit your relatives
Sū Qǐ	苏起	b. 1949, Taiwanese politician and Secretary General of the National Securoty Council 2008-10, Legislative Yuan member 2005-08
Yīgé Zhōngguó Gèzì Bi <b>ǎ</b> oshù	一个中国各自表述	One China, Respective interpretations
Péng Míngm <b>ǐ</b> n	彭明敏	1923-2022, noted democracy activist, advocate of Taiwan Independence.
Jīlóng	基隆	Officially known as Keelung City. It's a major port city situated in the northeastern part of Taiwan. The city is a part of the Taipei–Keelung metropolitan area, along with its neighbors, New Taipei City and Taipei.
Gāoxióng	高雄	Taiwan's largest city in the south. Also a major port.
Zhōngnánh <b>ǎ</b> i	中南海	The main living and working compound for the top leaders in China, located adjacent to thr Forbidden City in Beijing
Jiāng Zémín	江泽民	1926-2022, CCP General Secrtary 1989-2002
Jí Jí Earthquake	集集地震	A major earthquake that happened September 21, 1999 in west-central Nántóu County 南投县
Xīnzhú Science Park	新竹科學園區	an industrial park established by the government of the Republic of China on 15 December 1980. It straddles Hsinchu City and Hsinchu County in Taiwan.
Táiwān Qiántú Juéyì Wén	台湾前途决议文	Resolution on Taiwan's Future, published in 1999
Chén Shuǐbiǎn	陈水扁	Born in 1950, Chen is a retired Taiwanese politician and lawyer who served as the president of the Republic of China from 2000 to 2008. He was the first president from the Democratic Progressive Party followinf 55 years of

Anette Lǚ / Lǚ Xiùlián	吕秀莲	b. 1944, Taiwanese politician, Vice President 2000-2008, Magistrate of Taoyuan County 1997-2000, a major DPP figure
Lián Zhàn	连战	Known as Lien Chan, b. 1936, major political figure in the KMT and ROC government, Vice President 1996-2000, Premier 1993-1997, KMT chairmman 2000-2005
Vincent Siew	萧万长	b. 1939, Taiwanese politician who served as Vice President from 2008-2012 and Premier from 1997-2000, also a former KMT chairman
James Sòng	宋楚瑜	b. 1942, Taiwanese politician, founder of the People's First Party, Governor of Taiwan Province 1993-1998
Qīnmíngd <b>ǎ</b> ng	亲民党	People's First Party
Táinán	台南	Located on the southwest coast of Taiwan, this is where the earliest recorded history began with the arrival of the Dutch in 1624. Tainan was where the Dutch built Fort Provintia and Fort Zeelandia
Sìbù yī méiy <b>ŏ</b> u	四不一没有	The Four No's and the One Without
Sìyào Yī Méiyǒu	四要一没有	The Four Wants and One Without
Pénghú	彭湖	Also popularly known as the Pescadores Islands. This is an archipeligo of 90 islands in the Taiwan Strait covering an area of 141 square km. The largest city is Magong
Jīnmén	金门	Known as Kinmen or Quemoy, it is an island off the coast of Xiamen that is occupied by the ROC. It will be the site of several battles between the ROC and PRC forces. It lies roughly 10 km east of Xiamen, from which it is
Măzŭ	妈祖	The Matsu Islands are an archipeligo of 36 idlands in the East China Sea
A Bi <b>ǎ</b> n	阿扁	A nickname for Chen Shuibian. Could be used two ways, affectionatrely and perjoratively
Mă Yingjiŭ	马英九	b. 1950, known as Ma Ying-jeou, President of the ROC 2008-2016, KMT Chairman 2009-2014
Bù T <b>ŏ</b> ng, Bù Dú, Bù Wǔ	不同不独不武	One of Ma Yingjiu's slogans, No unification. No independence and no war
Táiwān B <b>ǎ</b> ihé	台湾百合	The Taiwanese Lily, Lilium formosanum
Chóngqìng	重庆	Once part of Sichuan province, Chongqing is now a municipality like Beijing, Tianjin, and Shanghai
Chén Yúnlín	陈云林	b. 1941, President of the Association for Relations Across the Taiwan Straits (ARATS) 2008-2013
Jiāng Bĭngkūn	江丙坤	1932-2018, Taiwanese politician whi served in many positions, including Chairman of the Straits Exchange Foundation (SEF), Vice Chairman of the KMT and other offices
Hú Jĭntào	胡锦涛	b. 1942, CCP General Secretary from 2002-2012
Xi <b>ǎ</b> olín Village	小林乡	Siaolin Village, suffered terrible damage and destruction during Typhoon Morakot in 2009., located in the Jiasian District of Kaohsiung
Dà M <b>ă</b> n Zú	大满族	Taivoan (Taiouwang) People
	1	1

Zhèjiāng	浙江	Coastal province in China. Hangzhou is the capital
Cài Yīngwén	蔡英文	b. 1956, known as Tsai Ing-wen, President of the ROC 2016-2024, DPP Chair from 2020-2022, also served in other positions in the Legislative Yuan and Mainland Affairs Council