

## TERMS REFERENCED IN EPISODE

## The History of Taiwan (Part 7)

PINYIN / TERM	CHINESE	ENGLISH / MEANING
Táinán	台南	Located on the southwest coast of Taiwan, this is where the earliest recorded history began with the arrival of the Dutch in 1624. Tainan was where the Dutch built Fort Provintia and Fort Zeelandia
Míng	明朝	The Ming Dynasty 1368-1644
Qīng	清朝	Last imperial dynasty of China 1644-1912
Taipei (Taihoku)	台北	Called Taihoku City in Japanese, Taipei is located in Northern Taiwan, Taipei is an enclave of the municipality of New Taipei City that sits about 25 km (16 mi) southwest of the northern port city of Keelung. Most of the city rests on the
Běitóu	北投	The northernmost of the twelve districts of Taipei City, Taiwan, famous for its hot springs
Dàdàochéng	大稻城	It was also known as Twatutia (a transliteration of the Taiwanese Hokkien Tōa-tiū-tiān), Daitōtei during Japanese rule, and Tataocheng during the Kuomintang era. Dadaocheng was an important trading port in the 19th century, and is still
Emperor Hirohito	昭和天皇	1901-1989, Emperor Showa, commonly known in English-speaking countries by his personal name Hirohito (裕仁). The 124th emperor of Japan, ruling from 25 December 1926 until his death in 1989
Nakagawa Kenzō	中川健藏	1875-1944, Japanese bureaucrat and political figure. Served as governor general of Taiwan 1932-1936
1935 Shinchiku-Taichū Earthquake		This quake occurred with a Richter magnitude of 7.1 (7.0 Mw) in April 1935 with its epicenter in Taizhong, Taiwan (Shinchiku Prefecture). It was the deadliest earthquake in Taiwan's recorded history, claiming 3,276 lives and
Táizhōng	台中	City on the west coast of Taiwan that also served as the provincial capital
Xīnzhú (Taichū)	新竹	City on the northwest coast of Taiwan
Éméi Township	峨眉乡	A rural township in Hsinchu
huángmínhuà	皇民化	The Kōminka Movement, "Kōminka" literally means "to make people subjects of the emperor". There were three components. First, the "national language movement," Second, the "name changing program" Third was the
Hokkien	福建	In the Minnan dialect, the people, language and culture of southern Fujian
Hakka	客家	A Han Chinese subgroup whose ancestral homes are chiefly in the Hakka-speaking provincial areas of Guangdong, Fujian, Jiangxi, Guangxi, Sichuan, Hunan, Zhejiang, Hainan, Guizhou in China, as well as in parts of Taiwan.
Kobayashi Seizō	小林 躋造	1877-1962, was a Japanese naval commander, commander of the Combined Fleet of the Imperial Japanese Navy (1931–1933) and the 17th Governor-General of Taiwan (1936–1940)

Kamidana	神棚	These were little mini-Shinto alters placed in a person's home
Kokugo	国语	the national Japanese language (Guóyǔ in Chinese)
Kaiseimei	改姓名	(Gǎixìngmíng) officially replacing one's Chinese name with a Japanese name
Gāoshā Yìy <b>ŏ</b> ngduì	高砂义勇队	The Takasago Volunteers
Jīlóng	基隆	Officially known as Keelung City. It's a major port city situated in the northeastern part of Taiwan. The city is a part of the Taipei–Keelung metropolitan area, along with its neighbors, New Taipei City and Taipei.
Ruìfāng District	瑞芳区	suburban district in eastern New Taipei City, Taiwan
Jīnguāshí	金瓜石	Kinkaseki POW Camp
Gāoxióng	高雄	The city of Kaohsiung on the southwest coast of Taiwan
Yílán	宜兰县	A county in northeastern Taiwan, just southeast of Taipei
Zhōngshān Hall	中山堂	a historical building which originally functioned as the Taipei (Taihoku) City Public Auditorium. It is located at 98 Yanping South Road in the Ximending neighborhood of Zhongzheng District, Taipei
Ando Rikichi	安藤 利吉	1884-1946, was a general in the Imperial Japanese Army and 19th and final Japanese Governor-General of Taiwan from 30 December 1944 to October 1945.
Haiphong	海防	a major industrial city in Vietnam. Hai Phong is also the center of technology, economy, culture, medicine, education, science and trade in the Red River delta.
Chén Yí	陈仪 / 陳儀	1883-1950, was the chief executive and garrison commander of Taiwan Province after Japan surrendered. He acted on behalf of the Allied Powers to accept the Japanese Instrument of Surrender in Taipei Zhongshan Hall on
Zhèjiāng	浙江	A coastal province in Eastern China, south of Jiangsu and north of Fujian
Fujian	福建	A coastal province in Eastern China, south of Zhejiang and east of Guangdong
Táiwān Dìwèi Wèidìng Lùn	台湾地位未定论	the Theory of the Undetermined Status of Taiwan
Nánshā Islands	南沙群島	The Spratly Island Chain in the South China Sea
Xīshā Islands	西沙群岛	The Paracel Island Chain in the South China Sea
Pénghú	澎湖	Also popularly known as the Pescadores Islands. This is an archipeligo of 90 islands in the Taiwan Strait covering an area of 141 square km. The largest city is Magong
Xiàmén	厦门	Major city in southern Fujian, also known as Amoy
Zhāngzhōu	漳州	City on the southern coast of Fujian

Quánzhōu	泉州	City in southern Fujian adjacent to Xiamen
Méi County	梅县	Méi County in Eastern Guangdong. The center of Hakka Culture in China
Gu <b>ǎ</b> ngdōng	广东	Province in southern China
Shàoxīng	绍兴	City in Zhejiang Province